top of page

PROPERTY AND SURROUNDINGS

The house is located in the middle of 200 000 m² private nature including a landscaped garden of 4000 m². The property is also surrounded by hundreds of hectares of forests and fields, guaranteeing 100% privacy. The silence is overwhelming. There is an abundant flora and fauna. It is not unlikely to see deer, wild boars or hares in the wild. You can freely pick the fruit from the many fruit trees on the property. On top of all that you get a mesmerizing view of 180 degrees over the Pyrenees and in winter and spring over the snowy mountain tops.

This unique location in the middle of nature provides plenty of hiking and biking possibilities. The house is only one hill away from signposted mountain bike trails and the Piedmont pilgrimage to Compostella. At the foot of the property there is a flat cycle path (a renewed ancient railway) that connects the Canal du Midi with the medieval Mirepoix and further it continues to the beautiful Cathar castle of Montségur.

Le Rey is on the border between the departments Aude and Ariège, these two are the heart of the Cathar region with their infamous castles, the largest being the Cité of Carcassonne. It is also an ancient wine region where the sparkling wine was invented, now known as Blanquette. Finally the region is adjacent to mountains and sea, this means you have unlimited possibilities of excursions and activities: trekking, canyoning, mountain bike descents, skiing, windsurfing, kiting, … And for the daredevils there is even a possibility to go skydiving in de nearby skydiving school “les Pujols”.

THE GARDEN

  • 200 000 m² of private nature.

  • 4000 m² landscaped garden.

  • Vegetable garden and picking garden in progress.

  • Ancient well.

  • Free fruit picking.

  • Depending on the season cows and horses are grazing on the surrounding fields.

  • Wooden playhouse with tower, swing and slide.

  • Unique view over the Pyrenees.

  • Various terraces with garden furniture.

THE SURROUNDINGS

  • Le Rey is surrounded by hundreds of hectares of forests and fields.

  • The forests are freely accessible for residents of the house.

  • The “voie verte” is a flat foot- and cycle path that goes from the Canal du Midi to Montségur.

  • The pilgrimage Piedmont to Compostella is only one hill away, it coincides in this region with the GR78.

  • The adjacent village Lignairolles is a starting point and junction of several signposted mountain bike trails.

  • Here you can find our favourite hiking and biking tours.

La colline du village
Le champs voisin
Le village de Lignairolles
Le coin
Le voisin
Le chemin vers la maison
Le bois au bord du domaine

THE REGION

  • Le Rey is on the border of the departments Aude and Ariège.

  • Centuries ago the persecuted Cathars retreated to the higher castles of this region. The most known in the area are Montségur, Queribus, Peyrepertuse and Carcassonne. Discover our favourite excursions here.

  • The regional wine appellations are Malepere, Cabardès, Minervois, Corbières and the famous Blanquette de Limoux (the first traditional sparkling wine). The winemakers are happy to receive you to come and taste their life’s work. Discover here our favourite wineries. 

  • At a 60 to 90 minutes’ drive you have:

  • The white beaches of Gruissan (next to Narbonne)

  • The world famous kite and windsurf spot Leucate

  • The high mountains and the ski slopes of Mont d’Olmes, Ax les Thermes or Andorra

  • The beautiful and vibrant  “pink city” Toulouse

  • Discover here our favourite sea, mountain or cultural excursions

  • For daredevils there is the possibility to go skydiving in the small airport of les Pujols (25 minutes from Le Rey).

  • The region is on the Lonely Planet bucket list of 2018. Read more here.

bottom of page

CONTACTEZ NOUS

Tel: +32 9 362 31 42

CAP

LE DOMAINE ET SES ALENTOURS

La maison se situe sur un domaine de  200 000m2  privatifs, dont 4000m2 de jardin aménagé . Le domaine même est entouré de centaines d'hectares de bois et de champs, ce qui garantit une intimité à 100%. Le silence est surprenant et la faune et la flore sont luxuriantes. Ainsi, vous pouvez rencontrer de temps en temps des cerfs, des sangliers ou des lièvres alors que vous cueillez les fruits des nombreux arbres fruitiers sur le domaine. Le tout avec une vue sublime à 180 degrés sur les Pyrénées et ses sommets enneigés en hiver et au printemps.

 

Cette situation unique au beau milieu de la nature offre de nombreuses balades pour cyclistes et randonneurs. Ainsi, la maison se situe à proximité des routes balisées pour VTT et de la route de pèlerinage de Piemonte à Compostelle. Au pied du domaine se trouve une voie verte pour cyclistes et randonneurs (il s'agit là d'une ancienne voie ferrée réaménagée) qui relie le Canal du Midi au village médiéval de Mirepoix , et qui continue jusqu'au magnifique château cathare de Montségur.

Le Rey se situe sur la frontière des départements de l'Aude et de l'Ariège qui forment le coeur de la région cathare et ses châteaux notoires, avec comme plus grand la Cité de Carcassonne. C'est aussi une région viticole séculaire où le vin mousseux a été inventé. A présent on l'appelle La Blanquette. La région est également située non loin de la mer et de la montagne, ce qui permet d'organiser de nombreuses activités et sorties: trekking, canyoning, descente en VVT, ski, windsurfing, kiting, ... Pour les vrais téméraires, l'école de parachutisme des Pujols (à 25 km) offre des possibilités de faire des sauts en parachute.

LE JARDIN 

 

  • 200 000 m2 de nature privative.

  • 4000 m2 de jardin aménagé.

  • Jardin potager et cueillette en amménagement.

  • Puits d'eau séculaire.

  • Arbre fuitiers pour cueillete.

  • Selon la saison des vaches ou des cheveux vous tiendront compagnie sur les champs du domaine.

  • Tour en bois avec toboggan et balançoire.

  • Vu unique sur les Pyrénées.

  • Terrasses diverses comprenant meubles de jardin.

LES ALENTOURS​

​​

  • Le Rey est entouré d'une centaine d'hectares de bois et de champs.

  • Accès libre aux bois pour les habitants de la maison.

  • La "voie verte" est un chemin plat balisé pour cyclistes et randonneurs qui part du Canal du Midi jusqu'au château de Montségur.

  • Non loin du domaine se trouve le pèlerinage de Piemonte à Compostella qui, dans cette région, converge avec la GR78.

  • Le village avoisinant de Lignairolles est le point de départ et d'arrivée de nombreux parcours de VVT.

  • Vous trouverez ici nos balades préférées à pied ou à vélo. 

LA REGION

  • Le Rey se situe sur la frontière des départements de l'Aude et de l' Ariège.

  • Il y a des siècles, les cathares persécutés se sont rétirés dans les châteaux perchés de la région. Les plus connus de la région sont ceux de Montségur, Queribus, Peyrepertuse et Carcassonne. Découvrez ici nos sorties préférées.

  • Les appellations de la région sont le Malepere, le Cabardès, le Minervois, les Corbieres et la fameuse Blanquette de Limoux (le premier vin mousseux traditionnel). Les vignerons de la région vous accueillent volontiers pour découvrir leurs domaines et pour déguster leurs vins. Découvrez ici nos domaines viticoles préférés. 

  • A 60 à 90 minutes de voiture du Rey vous trouverez:

    • les plages blanches de Gruissan (à proximité de Narbonne)

    • l'endroit rêvé et mondialement connu des surfeurs (Leucate)

    • les montagnes et ses pistes de ski des Mont d'Olmes, d'Ax les Thermes ou d'Andorre

    • la merveilleuse ville de Toulouse, appelée "La ville rose"

    • découvrez ici nos sorties plage, mer, montagnes préférées

  • Les téméraires peuvent faire des sauts en parachute à l'école de parachutisme des Pujols (à 25 minutes en voiture du Rey ).

  • La région se trouve dans le Lonely planet bucket list de 2018 . Découvrez ici.